Facebook Twitter Email Google+ Addthis

WARNING: the section between Estanés lake and Candanchú has been discontinued. The new stretch of the route adds another day to the walk. From Estanés lake the route heads towards Lizara via valle de los Sarrios, Bernera bridge and Plana Mistresa. From Lizara you can take the variant GR11.1 or continue along the new stretch: Lizara-Collado del Bozo-Collado de Esper-Tuca Blanca-Tobazo-Candanchú.

Stage 10 (discontinued): Aguas Tuertas - Candanchú
Alternative - Main Route: Aguas Tuertas - Ref. Lizara

Distance/elevation: 14,3 km / (+530),(-600)
Time: 5h15min (walking time without stops).

Difficulty: Pay extra attention to the signs after Estanés lake at the crossroads to Candanchú. If there is any risk of a landslide you should avoid the section known as Chorrota de Aspe.


(0h0min; 0kms) Aguas Tuertas (1620m). The valley in Aguas Tuertas is undoubtedly one of the most picturesque in the whole of the Pyrenees. The river zigzags drawing impossible meanders across an idyllic meadow surrounded by mountains. It is a place that exudes an incomparable sense of peace and serenity. The path heads towards the head of the valley on the left-hand side, where water flows from Barranco de la Rueda. Shortly before, the path turns left (east) and looks for a good place to cross the river (not always easy), on the way to...

(1h00min; 3.1kms) Escalé Pass (1.660m). A signpost signals left to Escalé pass and right to Estanés lake (GR11). You head on up to a col (1890m) then take a short descent. Keep a keen eye on waymarking – especially in foggy conditions – so as to avoid walking down to the lake, because you need to skirt round it half-way up in order to avoid the walls that surround it on this side.

(2h40min; 7.3kms) Ibón de Estanés (1755m). You head towards the col to the east of the lake and start the descent. The path coincides with other routes heading down to Sansanet car park. On the way down, make sure you veer right before reaching the border. The path now enters Sansanet forest and continues half-way up the slope, without losing altitude. At times you may find walking difficult, as you might have to walk across patches of snow in early summer. In 2013, the path had been affected by landslides (this is not uncommon). Leaving la Chorrota de Aspe behind, you come to open terrain. All that is left is a short climb to Causiat col (1630m), a frontier point with ski slopes, and a gentle walk down to Candanchú.

(5h15min; 14.3kms) Candanchú (1.550m).

Where to sleep?

At the beginning of the Aguas Tuertas Valley, you will find the Aguas Tuertas cabin (free, in good condition, basic).

In Candanchú a number of auberges and hotels are open, depending on the time of year. Albergue el Aguila, Refugio Pepe Garcés (), Albergue Valle del Aragón (), Hotel Candanchú or Hotel Tobazo among others.

If you decide to make this stage longer and the next stage shorter (7h), or go for the Canal de Izas, variant, we recommend walking another 4kms to Hotel Santa Cristina (//). Located by the road to France (km 669), between Canal Roya and Canal de Izas, it has a spa, restaurant and a bar where breakfast is served.


Between Candanchú and Jaca, there is a regular line on the Mancomunidad Alto valle del Aragón local route. You will find information on timetables on the Comarca de la Jacetania website.

Perfil de la etapa


Stages - GR11

- Prologue: Cabo Higuer - Hondarribia - Irun
- Stage 1: Cabo Higuer - Bera
- Stage 1v (GR 11.3): Cabo Higuer - Lesaka
- Stage 2: Bera - Elizondo
- Stage 2v (GR 11.3): Lesaka - Elizondo (Spanish)
- Stage 3: Elizondo - Pto de Urkiaga
- Stage 4: Puerto de Urkiaga - Burguete
- Stage 5: Burguete/Auritz - Villanueva de Aezcoa/Hiriberri (Spanish)
Stage 6: Villanueva de Aezcoa/Hiriberri - Ochagavia (Spanish)
Stage 7: Ochagavia - Isaba (Spanish)
Stage 8: Isaba - Zuriza (via Belabarce)
Stage 8v (GR 11.4): Isaba - Zuriza (via Ezkaurre)
Stage 9: Zuriza - Aguas Tuertas
Stage 10: Aguas Tuertas - Lizara
Stage 10 (discontinued): Aguas Tuertas - Candanchú
Stage 11: Lizara - Candanchú
Stage 12: Candanchú - Sallent de Gallego
Stage 9v (GR 11.1): Zuriza - Puente de Santa Ana
Stage 10v (GR 11.1): Puente de Santa Ana - Lizara
Stage 11v (GR 11.1): Lizara - Canfranc Estación
Stage 12v: Canfranc Estación - Sallent de Gallego (via C.Izas)
Stage 13: Sallent de Gallego - Refugio de Respomuso
Stage 14: Refugio de Respomuso - Balneario de Panticosa
Stage 15: Balneario de Panticosa - San Nicolas de Bujaruelo
Stage 16: San Nicolas de Bujaruelo - Refugio de Goriz
Stage 17: Refugio de Goriz - Circo de Pineta
Stage 18: Circo de Pineta - Parzán
Stage 19: Parzán - Biadós
Stage 20: Biadós - Puente de San Jaime (Spanish)
Stage 21: Puente de San Jaime - Refugio de Cap de Llauset (Spanish)
Stage 22: Ref. Cap de LLauset - Conangles
Stage 23: Conangles - La Restanca
Stage 24v (GR11.18): La Restanca - Colomers
Stage 25: Colomers - Ernest Mallafré
Stage 26: Ernest Mallafré - La Guingueta
Stage 27: La Guingueta - Estaón
Stage 28: Estaón - Tavascán
Stage 29: Tavascán - Areu
Stage 30: Areu - Baiau
Stage 31: Baiau - Arans
Stage 32: Arans - Encamp
Stage 33: Encamp - Ref. l'Illa
Stage 34: Ref. l'Illa - Malniu
Stage 35: Malniu - Puigcerdá
Stage 36: Puigcerdá - Planoles
Stage 37: Planoles - Santuario de Nuria
Stage 38: Santuario de Nuria - Refugio de Ulldeter
Stage 39: Refugio de Ulldeter - Molló
Stage 40: Molló - Talaixà
Stage 41: Talaixà - Albanyà
Stage 42: Albanyà - La Vajol
Stage 43: La Vajol - Requessens
Stage 44: Requessens - Vilamaniscle
Stage 45: Vilamaniscle - El Port de la Selva
Stage 46: El Port de la Selva - Cap de Creus

Map of the stage